Shamed…

She said I shouldn’t ”act” pretty,
It might attract people who’ll harm me;
She said I shouldn’t ever talk about love,
It’s stupid, not needed to form a family;
She told me never to state my opinion,
It doesn’t need a voice, it doesn’t matter to the world;
She told me never to answer back,
With questions, or my curiosity, there’s no need for words.

She made me feel my body was a curse,
That I shouldn’t talk about my physical and emotional parts;
She shamed every colossal change through my life,
That these should be discussed never in time;
She made me feel I was inferior
To my depression and her snarky laugh;
She did all she can
To break me apart;
And She nearly succeeded,
I’m still recovering from my traumatic past.

 

Featured Image –

http://shynesssocialanxiety.com/socially-awkward/

 

Leave a Reply

